Cone Shell in the rain (making of)

Today it was a rainy day and that was perfect for the picture i wanted to make. I wanted to make a picture of a cone shell in the rain. When i took the first picture it was not yet raining, but it was wet and that gave a beautiful bokeh effect.

On the other two pictures it was raining and i used some Christmas lights in the background for a nice bokeh effect.

I used a low position for the pictures to get that bokeh and that way the shell looks big. 

Shot with my Tamron 90mm on my D5200. Shot manual in f4 - Iso 200 - 1/125 sec on mode A

Shot with my Tamron 90mm on my D5200. Shot in f3.5 - Iso 200 - 1/325 sec (left) and  f3.2 - Iso 200 - 1/125 sec  (right) on mode A


Day 2. I wanted to try and make some more shots with diffrent light, because the sun was shining today.

It wasn't raining when i took the pictures as you can see. The sun was shining on the wet surface, what gave a beautiful colour.

Shot with my Tamron 90mm on my D5200. Shot in f5.6 - Iso 200 - 1/60 sec  (left) and  f5 - Iso 200 - 1/60sec  (right) on mode A

Then i wanted to create a bit of bokeh using  Christmas lights.

As you can see, i didn't use a tripod, because i like the low angle.

I thought rain would be nice here, so i used a watering can.

In tried to get a splash at the same depth, as where the focus on the shell is.


This is the result. I didn't want to freeze the drop, so the shutterspeed is at 1/125 for a bit more softness.

Shot with my Tamron 90mm on my D5200. Shot in f3.5- Iso 200 - 1/125sec 

As you can see here in live view mode a Rainbow apeared on the wet surface. And ofcourse i had to take some pictures of that as well.

The Rainbow bokeh was hard to get in the shot, because it was a bit darker here.

Shot with my Tamron 90mm on my D5200. Shot in f4 - Iso 800 - 1/1000 sec 


Reactie schrijven

Commentaren: 0