Cake Smash

Our baby girl is almost 1 year old. We wanted to try a cake smash shoot before she turns 1. This is the first time we tried it. My girlfriend baked a cake and she helped me with everything around the shoot. It was fun to do and our baby must have thought that her parents where crazy with al the sounds they made and moves they did. 


This was my setup. I used one flash softbox with a wireless trigger.

We bought a backgroud and  clamped it on the frame. I used a stuffed animal as a model to test the settings and lightings.

The best result i got was with an Iso of 200 and F8 and i swithed between the shoot to Iso 100 and 5.6.

I used my Sony Aii and Sony 85mm 1.8 lens and made the pictures on a tripod.




Before we put the cake in place we wanted to test the lightings and let her get used to the 'self made studio'  She was a little shy in the beginning as you can see here.


But after some time and a balloon to play with she began to smile.

I tried different white balance and other settings to look for the best result.




SO… Time for the cake. Within a few seconds she kicked the cake over and everything was everywhere.

Shot these pictures with my Sony 85mm 1.8 and flash with the softbox.



I made these pictures without the flash and tried to get more Depth in the pictures by setting it to an Aperture of 2.8. The iso had to be on 400 and therefore you see a lot more noise in the picures.


I swithed to the Sigma 50mm 1.4 and made some pictures handheld with the flash softbox. I moved the flash closer to her and i had to be closer as wel.

For the picture on the right i used a diffrent white balance. We where shouting Hieperde piep Hoera. (Hip Hip hooray) She loved it and must have thought it was her real birthday but she has to wait a little longer for that.



Reactie schrijven

Commentaren: 2
  • #1

    Wilma (zondag, 29 september 2019 12:51)

    Gaaf zeg!!!

  • #2

    Dounia (maandag, 30 september 2019 21:46)

    Super !! Mooi ���